Olympian Friends and Champagne

For the most part, I had an amazing weekend.

—Friday night, Melissa came to my house and we (along with Fizz) went out to dinner. Quick background, Melissa and I have known one another since high school. Unfortunately, we weren’t runners back then, just waitresses at a restaurant called the Off Shore in Point Pleasant, NJ. Since then, she has moved to Florida for college and now lives in Texas with her boyfriend and really cute dog. We obviously reconnected over our obsession with running. Anyway, she was back in NJ for the NJ Marathon last weekend and stayed an extra week for vacation. We decided that on Saturday we would spectate the NYRR UAE Healthy Kidney 10k Saturday morning to spend some QT with the USA Men’s Olympic Marathon Team and then drink a serious amount of champagne at brunch, and we did just that.

We got to the start of the 10k just as they were introducing our friends, Meb, Ryan and Abdi. Either people wanted to be in their corrals when the race started or we were the only people excited about seeing these guys, but there was so much room to stand by the start line and get a darn good view.

We have the same size legs

AND GO

Although the finish line was only about 10 blocks up, I was still nervous they would make it the whole 6.2 miles before I walked the 10 blocks, rightfully so I think. Thankfully we were able to see everyone finish!

ABDI

Meb, ever try ProCompression?

Mr. Hall cruising in

Quick Note: I met Meb once before. I was at the expo for the RnR Vegas race. I definitely had a few beers and was super pumped to see him (as was he to see me).

OH HEY ASHLEY! I remember you!

VEGAS – The good ole days

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pretty good morning with old friends!

—Melissa then informed me she hadn’t been to NYC since a high school or middle school class trip. We decided to go to the 9/11 Memorial. I hadn’t been to see it yet (I only saw portions of it when I ran the Tunnel to Towers 5k last year and the year before). It was beautiful and sad. The only thing I was surprised of was the attitude among the visitors there. Unfortunately it is more of a tourist attraction than I thought it would be. People take pictures in front of it, laughing and smiling, then offer to take other strangers pictures in front of it. I thought about the Vietnam Memorial in DC, where it is basically known that you walk by it in silence. I just thought that whole atmosphere and attitude was a bit disrespectful. But I am happy to have gone and it really is beautiful so if you haven’t seen it yet you should!

 

 

 

 

 

Our next adventure was a quick tour through Times Square (or, my daily commute).

I forced her to take this.

Finally, Champagne @ Medi Wine Bar (or Brunch, for those who think that is the highlight of the meal).

Good Morning Unlimited Champagne.

The meal was delicious. Melissa had Eggs Benedict and I had a Vegetable Panini. Each meal came with a side salad as well. We each also got the unlimited cocktail option for $18 and stuck with Champagne. It was really nice to catch up with Melissa. I mean, it has been 10 years since we last saw one another.

—And the last adventure of the day, I got to spend some time with my (basically) nephew JAKE! We’re best friends. We went to Sports Authority and I found out how hard it is to push a stroller in a store.

Change my diaper woman!

—At the end of the night, I walked into my house and pulled my neck. I knew the pain immediately (mostly because I couldn’t move). Unfortunately sometime last year I hurt my neck (diagnosis: two bulging discs in the lower neck) and was sidelined from running and in physical therapy for about three months. I used the whole “Do I want to run today, or do I want to run forever” mantra to get me through the miserable runningless days until I had healed! Saturday night is no the second time I have pulled my neck (coupled with muscle spasms) to the point where I need to lift my head with my hands.

Unfortunately, this means a little more time off from running. I was planning on getting more into strength training again (I backed off a bit during marathon training this past cycle and am itching to get back into it anyway).

The mailman just delivered the Insanity Workout today. As soon as I feel better, I plan on doing it full on. I have always wanted to try it (mainly at 4 am when I fall asleep on the couch and I wake up to the infomercial) so I am excited I finally have the DVDs!

  • For NYC readers, where is your favorite place to go to Brunch, with good cocktail deals (cheaper than a meal + $18 for unlimited)? 
  • What do you do when an injury keeps showing its ugly face?
  • Have YOU ever done the Insanity Workout? 
2 thoughts on “Olympian Friends and Champagne

  1. Kara

    My roommate did Insanity and now is trying P90X! I’m definitely interested…I did one DVD once, I just get so ADD when it comes to workout videos.

    Oh and I agree about the atmosphere at the 9/11 Memorial. I was crying and other people were laughing. (?!?!)

    Get well soon! We have a Ragnar to run! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: UAE Healthy Kidney 10K « Melissa Runs

Comment Away

