You Won’t Regret It

“I just don’t feel like running today.”

How many times have you said that to yourself? It is normally followed by a number of excuses: I’m too tired, too hungry, too cold, too hot, too busy, my ___ hurts, etc. For those of us who are training for a race, whatever distance it may be, the schedule may be tough to abide to. Not every training run is something you will FEEL like doing. As runners, we sign up for races for different reasons, and whatever it may be, we must follow through with our plan to accomplish our goals, and that is what is important.

SO – as this is a frequent thought of mine, I decided to share the thoughts that go through my head as suggestions for dealing with the days when you just do not feel like running. They help me get moving so maybe they will help you too!

1. Think less. MOVE more. Snap out of the stupor and get your gear on and get out of the house.

2. Still making excuses? Plan for 15 minutes and see how the run goes (versus the scheduled run). What will most likely happen: 10 minutes in, you will be happy you are out there and will do the workout you originally planned.

3. Think to yourself (or out loud if you want), “What would Pre do?” I bet you will run.

4. Remember that today’s run is part of your training plan, which will put you a step closer to accomplishing your goal!

5. If all else fails, make yourself feel bad for being a lazy ass. You’ll get out there.

 

 

15 thoughts on “You Won’t Regret It

  1. Melissa

    This is a great tip: “Plan for 15 minutes and see how the run goes” You can talk yourself into it by justifying that the 15 min is doing SOMETHING, and then once you’re out there – bam, might as well do the whole thing! Great post 🙂

    Reply
  2. Laura J

    This describes my feelings alllll the time!!! The 15 minute plan is what I always try to tell myself too…Good advice, and love that quote at the end!

    Reply
    1. Running Bun Post author

      Thanks! It really is hard to get outside sometimes. The couch is so inviting after a long day. But I try to think of the big picture instead!

      Reply
  3. Amanda Naro (@amandanaro)

    I feel this way pretty much any time I plan to run in the morning before work. Like this morning…stay in bed an extra 20 mins. I could have been more than done with my 2 miles by then. I debated running after Zumba tonight but I realized that probably wasn’t going to happen because and I was trying to procrastinate. SO I got up….grabbed my running stuff, made my way down to the kitchen splashed water on my face put my sneakers on and then proceeded to change from PJs to running clothes as I made my way to the door. I certainly had to walk for a few mins to wake up but in the end I did .7 miles more than my 2 planned. Always hard to get out, but always great once you do! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
    1. Running Bun Post author

      It definitely takes little steps to get yourself out there but well worth it once you are. Good job going further than you had planned!! PS I am AWFUL at Zumba. The older women are so much better than me. SO embarrassing.

      Reply
  4. Kara

    I usually scare myself into thinking that if I dont do a workout because I’m lazy, I’ll totally fail on raceday. Probably not healthy thinking but it usually convinces me to run if I’m not motivated, haha. Great list!!

    Reply
  5. Mariell @ HealthyPantz

    You’re so right. (and love the quote!) It’s amazing how in my head I know that I’ll feel exponentially better after a workout than I do right-this-second, yet the allure of the couch is sometimes waaayyy too inviting. The shame method works wonders in those cases. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Pingback: NYCM Training – Week 2 Recap | Running Bun

Comment Away

