This Boot Was Made for Walking

I have been complaining a lot lately that I injured my foot. I barely ran last week. I made it 6 miles into a 20 miler before I was in tears and had to stop.

Stuck in Harlem. At least there was a DD.

I did not run this week hoping the mysterious pain in my left ankle/foot would go away and I would go back to enjoying my new relationship with speed at the track next week.

Then this happened:

YIKES

I made an appointment with the doctor because I would rather a professional diagnose me than self-diagnosis. I was ready to amputate (ask Stacy, she was going to help). Anyway, I have a 5th Metatarsal Avulsion fracture (fancy doctor term for a stress fracture) and I have peroneal tendonitis. He said it has a lot to do with over-pronation (only my left foot over-pronates). The fracture looks like this (note: this is NOT my foot, but it shows exactly where I am injured):

See ya later NYCM

I am in the boot for at least 4 weeks. Its sweaty and awful. Exercise wise I am allowed to spin, swim and do yoga and pilates. I can also do strength training but nothing where I am jumping around, standing too long etc.

Did I cry at the doctor’s office? Yes.

Did I call my mom and cry? Yes.

Did I tell my boyfriend I was going to be an emotional, drunk basket-case for the next 4 weeks? Yes.

OK – now that we have all of that out of the way, let remember the post I wrote this morning about HOPE! I need to keep my head up. If this had to happen, I am happy it happened this far out from the NYCM. With 4 weeks off, I will still have 8 or 9 weeks to train. Yes I will probably still have to adjust my goal, but I will cross that bridge when it comes.

AND BECAUSE TODAY SUCKED…I am doing MY FIRST GIVEAWAY EVER!!!!

If you read my blog, or follow me on twitter, you know how much I love and adore PRO Compression socks. They are an amazing company and are actually helping to sponsor our Ragnar Relay team for Ragnar Adirondacks late September!

I have a pair of the neon pink sock to give away (SIZE S/M – size chart here)

I did a review on the marathon compression sock a little while back (REVIEW HERE).

MANDATORY ENTRY:  

  • Please leave a comment letting me know how you motivate yourself when you are injured or how you motivate others when they are injured.

EXTRA ENTRIES (Please leave a comment for each):

  • Follow me on twitter: @runningbun
  • Follow ProCompression on Twitter: @ProCompression
  • Tweet about the giveaway – I just entered to win pink @ProCompression socks from @runningbun and so can you! http://wp.me/p2ofeR-bt
  • Like my [new] Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/RunningBun

I will select a winner on RANDOM.ORG on Wednesday August 15 at 12pm EST!

If you don’t win, my Ragnar teammates have a few more pairs to give out after this giveaway!

 

149 thoughts on “This Boot Was Made for Walking

  1. Sky

    OH, Love, let’s make the date to go drinking together! Did you yell at your damn foot? 😦 Sorry you have to go through this, but, remember when we really did not train for LB marathon? We went and finished sub 4! So there is lots of HOPE that you will finish NYCM stronger and faster!

    Reply
  2. gmruns

    Holy. Crap. I totally feel for you 😦 I am so so sorry! I love your positive outlook on it though. You will totally be ok and ready to come back harder than ever. Aqua jogging anyone??!!?

    Reply
  3. Beth

    Noooooooooooooo!!! I’m so sorry to hear this. I LOVE your attitude though and have NO DOUBT that I will still be cheering you on come November 4th! You’re BADASS, you’ll still rock it girl! I will totally spin, pilates (well maybe not pilates, I really hate pilates), and yoga with you!!! Oh, and drink plenty of wine with you too 😉 Keep your chin up!

    Reply
  4. sweatpassionandtears

    When I was injured I motivated myself by drinking a LOT hahah, no just kidding (kind of). Seriously, though, I motivated myself by embracing the time off and thinking about the future. Time off means more time to spend with friends, be social, stay up late bc you don’t need to wake up at 6am to run. Give back to my body by allowing sleep and rest, but most importantly think about how much stronger and more motivated I’d be once I was healed!

    Don’t let this get you down, just take it as a SMALL bump in the road that will make crossing the finish line in Nov so much more joyous.

    Always up for yoga or pilates or low impact activities (such as sitting at a bar) with you if you get down!

    Reply
  5. Abby

    Sooo sorry about this!!! 😦 I am also up for yoga, spin, Pilates, drinking anytime!!! And (as long as I don’t get injured) will be ready to run with you the weeks leading up to NYCM and Philly when you’re back at it!

    I know it totally sucks now, but just think about all the years you still have to run! And this certainly won’t be the last NYCM! You can start working on your training plan for 2013 now, where you’re going to kick ass!!!! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Veg Runner

    Here goes some motivation…

    I am so sorry to hear about your fracture! The good news is that you are still able to exercise. Spinning and yoga will be great for crossing training and hopefully the yoga will be restorative. The 4 weeks will FLY by and you will be training again in no time. My husband was hurt a few months ago and couldn’t run the Brooklyn half. It was heartbreaking for me to go out and run and him be stuck at home. I made sure he continued to eat well and read lots of running books to get him ready for his return. He is now 100% and is better than ever! You will come back and do the same!

    Reply
  7. NancyT

    I’ve only been running since May, so thankfully I have not yet been injured. But when I have been sick and just not up to running, I plan what I want my next goal to be. It keeps my mind on running and gives me something to look forward to!

    Reply
  8. krissy m. murphy

    The best way to motivate others that are facing injury is to reinforce the fact that there IS more to life than running 🙂 It’s a good time to remember the other things you love and focus your energy in a positive way 😀

    Reply
  9. Mariell @ HealthyPantz

    injuries are the WORST- dumb feet! (i say this as i stare down at my own sexy sleeping boot. ugh.) always up for something low impact… a yoga/wine meetup actually sounds awesome. we should make that happen.

    Reply
  10. Sarah Ohm

    I was injured a couple times training for my half-marathon, but I stayed motivated by continuing to #sweatpink in workouts, and by the encouraging words of friends, family and coworkers!

    Reply
  11. Janice

    ouch! I hope it heals very quickly!
    When I’m injured, I give myself some me-time to heal and to take things easy. I remind myself that I’ve earned it, and I’m motivated by friends and family

    Reply
  12. Kristy (@KristyH5)

    I was injured 3x in the past year. it sucked. I have to say the best thing I did was stay positive and think outside the box. I did not sit around and feels sorry for myself. I took it day to day and stayed as active as possible. And I didn’t let anyone tell me I couldn’t or wouldn’t do something … like run NYCM! you can do it! can’t wait to see you at the finish line!!

    Reply
  13. Rich

    Oh Ashley :-(( I so hate to hear this. Sounds like you’ve at least come to grips with it and have a plan. Hopefully those 4 weeks will go by quickly and you’ll be back and better than ever in no time.

    Reply
  14. Laurel C

    Okay I can totally relate because I went to my physical therapist last week and I too am injured…..ugh. And I’ve never had an injury before so this is new for me 😦

    Reply
  15. Crystal

    To motivate myself when I’m injured–I always try to find some other sort of activity I CAN do despite the injury. Whether it be biking, swimming, yoga, what be it. I also read up on other people’s blog to be able to keep my spirit up. And I always go to Tweeps who dish out advice and love.

    Reply
  16. Kim

    So sorry to hear about your injury! 😦 It definitely sucks but good for you that you were proactive and got it diagnosed rather than continuing to injure yourself!

    A few years back I had a stress fracture in my hip and was on crutches for 2 months to avoid surgery! I stayed motivated by thinking of all the years and races I had in my future by taking care of myself NOW. Stay positive! 🙂

    Reply
  17. Laura

    Oof, that is so tough and I am so sorry! My best advice is to try to just stay “fit” through other exercise – swimming, arms-only weight lifting, etc. There are a lot of ways to get your heart rate up without using your feet!

    Reply
  18. Emilia @ Run for Your Life

    I had a metatarsal stress fracture earlier this summer and was also in the boot. There was one week were the temps reached 100+ here in Houston and it suuuccckkkeeed. I was told I could bike, swim, etc., but I don’t have a gym membership, so I basically did nothing for about 6 weeks. I was motivated to do corework, which I normally tend to slack on, though, and I’m glad I did because now that I’m back in the game, it’s all sports bra runs, all the time as I try not to melt during NYCM training! Is the marathon absolutely out for you now? 😦

    Reply
  19. Pingback: Go to Chobani Soho | Running Bun

  20. Stacy Lazar

    I was JUST asking Noah about whether he thought compression socks would help my leg! (They probably won’t, let’s be honest.) Regardless, hot pink is awesome. Must get a pair – or miraculously win these. Also, I bet that boot doesn’t make you any less adorable to creepy men in Soho. As for something to motivate while injured…it’s called wine. Sav. Blanc, preferably.

    Reply
  21. tjdolan@hotmail.com

    I just hurt myself as well. Torn adductor. I am looking to the other comments here and already feeling spirits lift. I just began running this summer so I feel like no sooner was I getting wind beneath my sails then I was derailed. I will try to focus on the positive and once pain simmers down a bit I will need to figure out what else works for me for the time being. Meanwhile, a pair of hot pink socks would look dazzling on this elevated, iced leg. 🙂

    Reply
  22. Stephanie Malone (@smalonedesign)

    I’m fortunate enough to work for an awesome company, Airrosti.com, which specializes in helping athletes and others rapidly recover from injuries. So there’s almost no downtime between injury and getting back to running and other activities. Our motto is, “Don’t Stop!”

    I am so glad to have discovered this blog and made a new twitter friend via #runchat. I LOVE this contest and have my fingers crossed I win and can try out these awesome socks you so highly recommend.

    Reply
  23. Pingback: NYCM Training – Week 5 Recap | Running Bun

  24. Thy

    During times of injury… I figure out what I did (or did not do) to possibly prevent this so it doesn’t happen again. It sucks and I take a few days off. After that I try and regroup and lay off of it and do other things to keep the body active. I usually work on weaknesses like strengthening stabilizer muscles and do more core work. That way, I’ll return better than before.

    Reply
  25. Jen

    So sorry about the injury 😦 I try to find new and fun ways to exercise or try something I don’t normally do since I often focus on running.

    Reply
  26. Stephanie H. (@fitmomtraining)

    Any time I’ve been injured, I stay motivated by looking forward to the “grand return” and how good it will feel to move again. I also cross train to keep myself from going crazy.

    When others are injured, I drink with them. I’m a good friend that way.

    Reply
  27. Kayla

    When I was injured I focused on a new goal – I wanted nice arms so I focused on upper body strength. I still got in cardio with the bike and elliptical but my arms were looking pretty good when I was in my sister – in – laws wedding! 🙂

    Reply
  28. Laura @ scribbles and sass

    Absolutely adorable socks!

    I feel you about the injury stuff. I broke my tibia and did some ligament damage 2.5 weeks ago, went for surgery and am in a cast. I am so beyond frustrated with it.

    I’m looking at the bright side: I can still do one-leg squats and my arms are going to be wicked and muscular by the time I’m done with these crutches! 😉

    Reply
  29. Gina @ Noshing on Asphalt

    Aw, I’m sorry about your injury! I would be a drunk basket case, too. 😦 Whenever I get injured (thankfully not very often) I usually sulk about it for a day, ok several days, until I put my big girl panties on and come up with an alternate plan to keep fit.

    Reply
  30. Cassey

    I am so sorry for your injury. I can’t imagine.. I would say to motivate myself I would try and stay off but still try and read encouraging blogs- I honestly have never been injured while running.. so I don’t know what I would do.. Maybe eat, drink.. all those things that shouldn’t come with depressions! 🙂

    Reply
  31. Vickie Alford

    My motivation during an injury would be that I would have to slow down and try something new. I love to try new things but I don’t always make time for new things in my daily schedule.

    Reply
  32. Amy L.

    My husband is my motivation, if it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t be running. Seeing him go through injuries while training for marathons shows me that these things are temporary and everyone goes through them. He is definetly my source of inspiration! To motivate others, I tell them to never give up. If you dream big and believe in yourself, anything is possible!

    Reply
  33. Running Hutch

    It’s funny how watching a movie about running or overcoming can be amazing motivation, even while you’re sitting on your couch you just start geeking out about when you can get back on your feet and move again. It can be equally frustrating but for me it’s usually a positive way to keep my mind motivated even when my body isn’t able.

    Reply
  34. Amy @ Mainely Running

    Being injured is so tough!! Especially when you are at the peak of training for a race…ugh. I’m currently out with a sore achilles and am just trying to stick with strength training for the other parts of my body for the time being but I am itching for a run! I also suffered through peroneal tendinitis in one foot 4 weeks before a marathon – no fun at all! Hang in there and hope that you are back at it soon!

    Reply
  35. blondebostonian

    I’m so sorry to hear about your injury!! I had peroneal tendonitis too a couple years ago from an old ankle injury that just never healed right. Foam rolling my calf + rest did WONDERS! Good luck! I love Pro Compression as well – super awesome company!

    Reply
  36. Amanda Naro (@amandanaro)

    I’m kinda sad I missed the giveaway but even more sad that you’re in a boot! I’m sure the 4 weeks will go by slowly and feel like it’s forever but just remember it’s only 4 short weeks! If you had kept on running you could have injured yourself further. Good for you for going to a doctor and getting proper help. I’m sure this will only help you in the long run. In the meantime try to get in some of the activities you can do to fill the running void. When you get back on your feet with running I’m sure you’ll be good as new 🙂

    Reply
  37. Pingback: Thankful (and a PRO Compression winner!) | Running Bun

  38. Pingback: Ragnar Adirondacks – Leg 2 | Running Bun

  39. Pingback: The NYC Marathon (Might Be) Six Days Away – Here Are My Thoughts | Running Bun

  40. Pingback: Richmond Marathon | Running Bun

Comment Away

