Go to Chobani Soho

Note: This is a big picture post, because it has to be, because it was that good.

As most of us are huge Chobani fans, if you haven’t been to Chobani Soho yet, I am sure you heard they opened a store in NYC. It is in the corner of West Broadway and Prince Street.

Prior to heading to greek yogurt heaven, I went to a non-air conditioned, sweat fest  Vinyasa Flow class at Yoga Vida Stacy, who is equally sarcastic and hilarious as me (yes, I do think I am rather witty). After yoga, Stacy and I met up with Kristin and Beth and we had a glass of wine and chatted before the Chobani event!

I was so excited to go to the new Chobani store. They are amazing and kind for inviting so many bloggers to the store to taste test their creations!

We were greeted by Emily, who started off the night by explaining a bit about Chobani’s history and foundations.

Dar then took the floor for the remainder of the evening.

We learned of Hamdi, the founder of Chobani, who is a Turkish immigrant that wanted to change the way people looked at yogurt in the US.

I loved the store’s design. It went with the story of Chobani completely. From the founder to the farms in upstate New York, the wooden details evoked the feel of a modern farmhouse with Mediterranean influences.

Dar explained that Chobani focuses on the quality of the ingredients, which are wholesome and natural. The only ingredients in the yogurt are milk and cultures. They do not carry sugar in the store, the dishes are sweetened with honey or agave nectar. The yogurt is delivered fresh everyday and kept at 34 degrees. Each “Creation” has a focus on one or two main ingredient/s that drives the flavor and taste.

Over the course of the night, we were fortunately served all 9 homemade creations for tasting!

Top: Pistachio + Chocolate

Bottom: Plain Chobani + Cucumbers

Top: Blueberry + Power

Bottom: Seasonal Fruit + Granola

Top: Plain Chobani + Olive Oil

Bottom: Peanut Butter + Jelly

and my favorites……

Toasted Coconut + Pineapple  The shredded coconut was massive and paired so well with the hazelnuts! This creation literally made me feel like I was on vacation.

WINNER! Fig + Walnut – I love figs. They are so sweet and the texture is so unique! When paired with the walnuts and the yogurt, it was instantly satisfying. I snack on walnuts and yogurt often, so I will absolutely be adding figs to the mixture in the near future (like tomorrow, since I bought figs last night).

We definitely embarked on a flavor journey at Chobani Soho.

They also have a “Mediterranean Pantry” with a variety of Turkish nuts, honey and olive oil imported from Greece so you can make your own Chobani creations at home. Mine will never be as creative or as tasty but I will give it a shot.

I will start with the awesome Turkish Hazelnuts I received in the goodie bag they gave all of us.

Huge Chobani bonus:

They sell water and donate 100% of the proceeds to the Shepherd’s Gift Foundation, which funds clean drinking water projects. I love charity.

You should go visit the store and try each creation. Every single one was splendid.

If you would like more information, visit them:

**Don’t forget to enter my PRO Compression sock giveaway! It ends Wednesday Aug 15!**

5 thoughts on “Go to Chobani Soho

    1. Stacy Lazar

      THEY ARE! I’m usually not an eat-yogurt-everyday type of person, but this I could get used to. Esp. the orange-pistachio-dark chocolate combo.

      Reply
  1. Amanda Naro (@amandanaro)

    I think the chobani store is such an interesting idea, it’s like, gourmet yogurt. The combos are really all over the place and it’s so cool you got to try them all! I think the pineapple coconut would probably b my favorite but who knows. Maybe someday I’ll make it to NY and visit the store 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: HLS 2012: Dining with Chobani | Running Bun

Comment Away

