Wine Tasting at Uplift Studios

I had heard great things about Uplift Studios.

From the website,”Uplift is a fitness and social movement for women that engenders positivity, self-empowerment and celebration by combining back-to-basics cardio and strength fitness with a fun social/networking element.”  

When Kara sent me a message about attending a Team in Trainingfundraiser at the studio (“Workout and Wine,” one of Uplift’s signature social events), I was in. Although I cannot do wonderful whole body workouts as much lately (I modify), I was excited to go to the studio and drink wine, I mean, try the workout, obviously.

The studio is located at 24 West 23rd Street (btw 5th and 6th Avenue) and was welcoming upon first walking in, I think it is because it is painted a very happy green with large floor to ceiling windows that take in an endless amount of light!

Uplift-Studios

The boutique studio has two rooms, a bright training area and a workout studio lined with mirrors. They had music playing, snacks and water for everyone, a bar with fake grass at your feet (that doubles as the front desk, clever) and a full-service locker room that was nicer than any I had seen before!

After we put our belongings in the lockers (lock+key are provided by the studio), I was eager to begin this social style workout. We were greeted by Michelle Mason, our instructor for the class. She was full of energy and while explaining the mechanics of the 30-minute timed circuit class, she discussed the importance of form and hard work. I was happy when she asked anyone if they had any injuries and/or limitations. After seeing the black boot I carry around as an accessory on my foot, she gave me exercises to do in place of certain lunges and cardio that I was not able to complete. Two thumbs up for her quick thinking and creativity.

The class is circuit training that focuses on legs, core, arms, and cardio. We completed three circuits and performed various exercises from squats, lunges, overhead press, triceps kickbacks, planks, more squats, core work and bursts of cardio.

Yes I took pictures mid-class!

We finished the class with ab exercises and stretching. It was a quick, effective and yet challenging workout. I used heavier weights the entire time and did not think I would be able to keep going after each set. I am sore today, but in a great way!

I will take this class again (and am excited to try others). You can see a class description and price list here. Fortunately for all of us, Uplift offers great deals on classes and packages!

NOW on the to wine tasting! We left the workout studio and went directly to the bar where the amazing (and inspirational) founders (Leanne Shear, Helena Wolin and Katie Currie) had set up an array of snacks for everyone that included almonds, cheese and crackers and a crudite platter.

The wine tasting was hosted by Adam Linet, the owner of Vino Fine Wine & Spirits, located at 121 East 27th Street (at Park Avenue). Vino has wine on tap. Amazing. We had 4 different types of wine and Adam gave us a short lesson about each bottle, including the types of grapes used and the fermenting process!

  • Sparkling wine:

  • Rose:

  • White wine blend that I drank too fast to take a picture.
  • Montepulciano:

She’s going to kill me for posting this.

I purchased 3 bottles (all but the red) and lugged them back to Jersey.

BIG THANK YOU to Uplift Studios and Vino Wine & Spirits for a great night supporting a great cause! I cannot wait to get back here when I am 100% healthy and can do all of the exercises!

9 thoughts on “Wine Tasting at Uplift Studios

  1. jenna

    that sounds like such a fun time!! my sister lives in NYC and is always going to different wine tastings for things. she loves it. pairing this with a good workout is so perfect though!!! SPA love!

    Reply
  2. Kara

    I’m so happy you are such a great documenter! I love how there is a girl working out behind me in that picture, haha. Thanks for joining me. You’re welcome for the bag you used to lug home all the wine bottles 🙂 hahaha jk jk

    Reply
    1. Running Bun Post author

      HAHAHA! It was my first time doing that. I also have asked strangers at the gym to take pics of me doing random exercise moves. That got interesting responses as well 🙂 I just stopped caring about other’s reactions and more about my blog!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: (sort of) NYCM Training – Week 7 Recap | Running Bun

Comment Away

