Meatless Monday A to Z (Edamame!)

As usual, I am late with my recipe challenge post (2 weeks to be exact)!

I was on the train home from the city tonight and thought about what I should make. I wanted tacos so I decided to create some sort of Edamame guacamole! I stopped at the grocery store to pick up some ingredients that I thought would compliment and got started!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup shelled edamame beans
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped
  • juice from 1 lime
  • small handful of cilantro, chopped
  • kosher salt
  • pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • 3 tablespoons water

Directions

Combine edamame beans, avocado, garlic, jalapeno, lime juice and cilantro in the bowl of a food processor.

Add water and pulse the mix until the guacamole is creamy and smooth. After completed, top with salt, pepper and/or red pepper flakes!

I used the guacamole as a liner of my soft tacos! I topped it with brown rice, roasted red peppers, medium salsa, Chobani plain greek yogurt and Sriracha! It was perfect. I love tacos.

Next time I will put less garlic in the mix because it was very noticeable (some like a lot of garlic, I do not)!

Please visit Better With Veggies for the recipe link up for other recipes with edamame and check back soon (I hope) for the next featured ingredient, FIGS!

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday A to Z (Edamame!)

  1. Heather @ Better With Veggies

    I think you should just jump ahead next week and join us for Hominy, that way you can join in the fun at the same time. 🙂 This recipe looks yummy though – I had considered a hummus for the edamame, maybe I’ll use up some of the leftovers now!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Edamame and Chick Pea Coconut Curry « Silk & Spice

Comment Away

