Ragnar Adirondacks Relay – Leg 2

Leg 1 Recap – If you didn’t read, I ran in the rain, my friends got lost. It was cold. It sucked ass.

All of the ladies in Van 1 also ran in the rain (champs). Before it was time for Lora (first runner of Van 2) to take on a hefty 15 miles, she took a minute to dance with these buttcheeks.

Lora dancing with a team who probably chaffed A LOT

When Van 2 was running their first legs, we decided it was time to decorate the RAV….

Five seconds after we were done it started raining again and our car looked like we dumped Pepto all over it. Oh well, it was a good effort.

We drove to the next major exchange so we could relax, not sleep, but eat, get out of the car and walk around a bit! Exchange 12 was at Lake George and it was freaking beautiful! We were shacked up at a beach club and already relatively cracked out.

I was in straight panic mode from the moment we got there about my next run. I ate. Panicked. Ate again. Took pictures….

Ate again. Had a 5 hour energy (my key to success) and it was time to go!

Meeting Dana for the slap bracelet exchange!

Leg 2: 11.9 mi, 1:48 (9:04/mi avg)

Outfit: Under Armour Tee, Lululemon Speed Short, Pro Compression USA Socks, Mizuno Elixirs (New and perfect shoe)! and RAGNAR TATS

I started this run around 5:30 pm on Friday. I felt great and I was happy to be running WITHOUT RAIN!

The first portion of my run was along side Lake George (with van support, WINNER)! The girls leapfrogged me and gave me water a few times. It was perfect. I wish I had that on all runs.

The second part of the run was tough (and in the dark, and up the mountain, but with some streetlights). I climbed a significant number of hills but still felt strong. The only scary part was when I would climb a hill and meet an oncoming car at the top (there was a 3 inch shoulder for me to move into when this happened, 2977 times).

The best part of the run? I looked at my Garmin, saw there was about a 5k left and said out loud to myself (I didn’t see any other runners during this run, go figure) “WOOHOO 5k left!!!!” and then I tripped in a pothole, rolled my ankle on my recently injured foot, fell into a guard rail and hit the pavement hard. I got up, shook it off, walked for a minute to see how I felt (and to see if my foot was needed to be put into a bright pink hard cast) and realized I was completely fine so I took off running! I still cannot believe I do not have a mark on me from that fall. Straight Miracle.

I felt insanely strong during the entire run. I maintained an average of 8:30-8:50 pace for the entire time unit the last half mile where I had to walk up a serious mountain. There was no way my quads would have made it and my walking speed would have been much faster than my running.

When I gave them my team number (about a hundred feet before the exchange, to get the next runner ready) I heard Erin scream! I sprinted to the finish and gave her a big hug! What a difference from the first leg. THIS FEELING is what RAGNAR is about. HELL YES.

Leg 3 Recap (Tour of the mountains in the pitch black alone) coming tomorrow!

Maids of Dishonor Leg 2 Recaps!

Lora

Erin 

 

21 thoughts on “Ragnar Adirondacks Relay – Leg 2

  1. Melissa

    Glad your second leg went better than the first (you know, despite the fall)! Your posts are making me want to run a relay SOOO badly!! I want to play

    Reply
  2. jenna

    oh wow! im so glad the second leg was better, but i am sorry about your fall!! thank god you weren’t hurt!! i cant wait for the next part!! spa love!

    Reply
      1. Jen

        It went Okay-I ran legs 5, 17 and was supposed to run 29. I fell during my 2nd leg and twisted an ankle, so I didn’t run my last leg because it was bruised & swollen. I had fun though–I would totally do it again!

        Reply
  3. Pingback: Ragnar Relay Adirondacks – Leg 3 | Running Bun

  4. Pingback: NYCM Training – Weeks 11 & 12 Recap | Running Bun

  5. Pingback: ING Hartford Half Marathon–or as I call it, PR City | Running Bun

  6. Pingback: Richmond Marathon | Running Bun

Comment Away

