ORANGE-UP for the NYC Marathon with ING Runners Nation!

It is Marathon week. Officially 7 more days until I toe (or gradually cross) the start line of the ING New York City Marathon.  I’ve been working toward getting to this start line for over 3 years! I’ve dealt with lottery rejection, injury, a year of qualifying and another year of training!

My family and friends (and millions of strangers) will be out there in full support of me. I will be running along side of 45,000+ others all working towards the same goal. It brings me an overwhelming feeling of joy.

Many of the runners will be running for a charity (in 2011, over 210 charities raised over $34 million, source, holy shit), either because they have an AMAZING heart or because of the difficulty it is to guarantee an entry into the race, hopefully a little of both.

I consider myself a healthy living blogger. I’m assuming if you read my blog you are interested in living a healthy life of you and your loved ones (or my mom paid you to increase my site hits). The ING Community Fund is tackling childhood obesity through ING Run For Something Better. They are helping children become fit through free, school-based running fitness programs. Through donations and grants, the programs introduce children to the benefit of running, physical fitness and healthy lifestyle choices. With ING-sponsored races and ING KiDS ROCK (a partnership between ING Run For Something Better and the KiDS ROCK running series operated by Competitor Group, Inc.), the kids get to experience a “final-mile run” which simulates a race day atmosphere! They will receive medals, t-shirts and orange laces! Although I do not have children, I would absolutely LOVE to volunteer at an event like this!

For those of you running, walking, spectating, watching on TV, dreaming of or even thinking about the ING NYC Marathon on November 4, I think a fun way to celebrate is to ORANGE-UP your fitness routine this week! If you donate $10 (or more) here, you will be sent a pair of orange shoelaces like these:

Orangeup3

By participating, you’ll be supporting the 45,000+ runners in the ING NYC Marathon, as well as the ING Run for Something Better campaign that creates running programs for kids. Plus, who doesn’t want Neon orange laces in return for doing something good for kids, especially the week of Halloween?

ORANGE-UP WEEK – Monday, October. 29 – Sunday, November 4

Do you want to win something?

How about an ORANGE prize pack from ING? It will include those neon ORANGE laces as well as these ridiculously fun ORANGE glasses (no guarantee on looking as cool as me though):

Orangeup2

It’s easy to participate (and it’s free)! SO wear something ORANGE, and tell your best friend and your mom and your dog to do the same and get ACTIVE!

How to Enter!

  1. Take a picture of yourself (or your best friend, or mom or dog, all the whole gang) wearing ORANGE (and having fun).
  2. Submit your photo:
    • Facebook – Post your picture on the ING Runners Nation page (and like it since you already do and are already there). Please include this caption with your picture: “I am wearing ORANGE with RunningBun.com because I support the ING Runners Nation #orange_up.
    • Twitter – Tweet your photo to @INGRunnerNation with the following: “I am wearing ORANGE with @runningbun because I support the ING Runners Nation and #INGCLassof2012 #orange_up.
  3. Comment on this post (one for each entry) and let me know you submitted the pictures (I want to see them too, and it’s the only way I can pick a winner via Random.org!

Your picture must include the bolded caption above. You can enter a maximum of two times (one on Facebook and one on Twitter). There is no prior registration necessary, just submit your picture when you’re done exercising (or during, if you can multi-task)!  A random winner will be selected from all of the comments I receiver on this post (so don’t upload and not let me know) on November 5, 2012 (if I have enough energy to lift my hands).

Have fun with this!

Best of luck to all of the ING Class of 2012 runners!!

Please note: I will not stop stay ORANGE until after the marathon Smile Sorry!

4 thoughts on “ORANGE-UP for the NYC Marathon with ING Runners Nation!

  1. loramarie03

    I am so so so excited for you, girl!! I can’t wait to be out there cheering for you — I’ll be in BK so you’ll have to let me know what time you start and estimated pace! You are going to ROCK IT!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: NYCM Training – Week 16 Recap | Running Bun

Comment Away