NYCM Training – Week 16 Recap

This week was full of emotions. I went from being scared out of my mind, and doubting my ability to pure excitement! I ran more this week than the last (more than double, actually) and gained back my confidence for the marathon! The race is officially 6 days from now. All we need to do is survive a hurricane. What the fuck is that?

Week 16 (10/22 – 10/28)

Monday 10/122: Rest

Tuesday 10/23: Ran in Central Park with a friend – 5.6 mi (9:05 pace)- I felt like crap this entire run. I had a stomach ache and felt like I was dragging ass! I could barely make it up and down the hills without complaining, sorry Jess! Just one of those days I guess!

Wednesday 10/24: I had plans to wake up early and run 10(ish) miles with Abby. Once again my alarm clock and tiredness failed me and I got to the city much later than I had wanted to. I ended up meeting her for most of the run and unfortunately both struggled to get our pace under 9 min/mile for some reason. It was definitely another day of tough running!

Thursday 10/25: Flip for Refine Method event hosted by Well & Good NYC – This was a shortened version of Refine Method (45 min). It was actually a great class considering I felt like crap and didn’t eat enough prior. I was thrilled I was able to meet the founder of the studio, Brynn. She is just as amazing as I had heard! Prior to the class we were able to make a “flip book” of an exercise! Such a cool experience!

Screen Shot from the flip book!

We also got some goodies!

Refine Tee:

Photo courtesy of Refine Method (I chose the FASTER tee)

Birch Box:

Beauty Contents

We also had Hint Water and GRAWnola, both delicious!

Friday 10/26:  Rest

Saturday 10/27: I had plans to go into the city on Sunday morning to run my last long(er) run! I was going to run 5 or 6 miles and then the Poland Spring Marathon Kickoff (5 miles) with Dori! Late on Friday night I saw that Lora and Jess were planning on running the last 10 miles of the marathon course on Saturday morning so I decided to jump in with them as it would be more beneficial to me! The run was hosted by Mike Keohane (MK Coaching) and it was really great! He provided a bag check, fuel, water, and post-run bagels, coffee and candy!

I ended up running with 5 awesome (fast) women, JessJocelynGia, and Meggie. They were amazing company and great conversation and laughs helped me get through running a bit faster than I had originally planned! I am happy I ran the miles and now know what to expect. I’m hoping the crowds will push me through that mile climb up 5th (110 to 90) before entering the park.

Top: Gia, Meggie, Jocelyn
Bottom: Jess, Lora, Me

Crossing the (would be) finish line of the NYCM with Meggie!
Photo courtesy of Gia!

I forgot my Garmin but the stats were as follows (based on Lora’s Garmin):

(1) 8:32; (2) 8:11; (3) 7:54; (4) 8:02; (5) 8:03; (6) 8:03; (7) 7:58; (8) 7:57; (9) 7:50; (10) 8:07

Total time: 10 mi – 1:21 – 8:06 avg pace

Sunday 10/28: NYRR Poland Spring Marathon Kickoff 5 Mile Run! After the 10 miles (that I probably/definitely ran too fast) I knew I wanted to run this race slowly and comfortably. I ran with Jess and Dori and the miles flew by! Bonus: Erica and Leticia were cheering for us at the end of the race! I love it!!

Photo Courtesy of Erica Sara!

Official Results:

Total Weekly Mileage: 28

6 days. shit!

Don’t forget to ORANGE-UP for the ING NYC Marathon this week (well, if you live on the east coast, do it inside Monday-Wednesday)!!!

12 thoughts on “NYCM Training – Week 16 Recap

  1. Dori

    That’s my neon pink leg! Loved running the 5 with you, seriously the best and easiest (speedy for me) 5 miler I ever ran. You’re doing awesome and will be great for NYCM! Also, yay Refine!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The NYC Marathon (Might Be) Six Days Away – Here Are My Thoughts | Running Bun

  3. Pingback: Richmond Marathon | Running Bun

  4. Pingback: Weekly Workout Recap 10/29/12-11/11/12 | Running Bun

  5. Pingback: Weekly Workout Recap 11/12/12-11/25/12 | Running Bun

Comment Away

