Dear November…

This is the usual “let’s go over the previous month’s goals and set new goals for this month” post. I’m clearly a few (or more) days late. You probably realized I’ve been a bit preoccupied with some bitch named Sandy.

What did I want to accomplish in October?

  1. Do a plank for 5 minutes, comfortably. If I do not do one everyday, it alright. Yea that did not happen. I only did Planks at Refine Method and for Lindsay’s October Photo Challenge.
  2. Continue practicing yoga and pilates. I actually don’t think I went to one yoga or Pilates class this month. That’s really awful.
  3. Complete 2 (hopefully) successful 20+ mi runs! I did one. I ran 20.2 miles. I wanted to do another but figured my training at that point in time was sufficient for the NYCM. Now I hope that ONE 20.2 mile run was sufficient for Richmond.
  4. Do 2-3 strength train sessions each week. The only strength training I did was Refine Method, and that was once a week and only twice this month.

What did I learn about myself this month?

I need to get my act together. I was probably in the best shape of my life WHEN I WAS INJURED! I cross trained and strength trained, I did yoga and pilates and a lot of Nike Training Club and core work! I was 10 pounds lighter and although I was miserable that I was not running, I was definitely more fit.

So what did I accomplish? Nothing out of the goals I set, which is sad.

November Goals (starting 11/5):

  1. Complete the Richmond Marathon with a smile on my face.
  2. Realistically, go to yoga OR pilates once a week!
  3. Go to Refine Method once or twice a week.
  4. Run 100+ miles for the month of November.

Let’s see if I can do MUCH better this month and not write a post full of complaints and self-pity 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Dear November…

  1. Dori

    Good goals. You will do it! Also, without downtown Refine I will need you to be my reason for going uptown, since you are a person who doesn’t mind doing things.

    Reply
  2. lvrunsnyc

    Hmm. You know what I’d like to see in this post? A list of the things you did accomplish that weren’t on the original list. Because I’m pretty sure you had an awesome comeback to running & more 🙂 xx

    Reply
  3. Kristin

    October was a huge slump for me between the first week being away on vacation and the last week being hunkered down, in the dark, and depressed. How about we make November officially start today? 🙂 We’ll rock it… and hopefully so will Eli xoxo

    Reply
  4. Courtney @ JourneyofaDreamer

    You’ve got this!! one of the things i’ve learned about goals is that you have to set reasonable, yet challenging, goals. You’re gonna rock the marathon!

    Reply

Comment Away

