Weekly Workout Recap 10/29/12-11/11/12

I owe you some posts. I haven’t blogged in a little while. Lots of things happened since the last “NYCM Training Workout Recap” I posted. You know, like the marathon being canceled.

10/29/12 – 11/04/12

Monday 10/29-Wednesday 10/31: Hurricane Madness. Lots of tears. Lots of drinks.  Zero workouts.

Thursday 11/01: I went to an awesome Mizuno event at City Sports where we learned about their new shoes and clothing. Bart Yasso also spoke to the group about Mizuno as well as his running history, how he became the Chief Running Officer at Runners World and his all-time favorite races (Comrades Marathon, South Africa). He gave us advice about the NYCM course (in order to run a successful race, you must negative split, you want to be the person passing others at 23, not getting passed, it will bring a wave of energy to others who need it). He told us he has never seen such a negative attitude towards runners in regard to the NYCM/Sandy issue. He told us to run the race we trained for and to finish proud. We got an AWESOME Mizuno gift bag that included Bart’s new book (which he so kindly autographed). Abby and I snagged a pic with him before we left!

Best friends.

After the event, Abby and I went for a run on the west side. Due to the lack of power, so many  blocks were pitch black and vacant. Result: We ran faster.

Total: 5 mi, 42 min, 8:24 pace

Friday 11/02: This was fun. Volunteer at NYCM expo. Spend $300. Meet awesome Mizuno people. Find out NYCM is canceled, first via text from Dori, second by complete and utter silence of the Javits Center. Instinctively try to return everything I bought. Get denied by vendors. Leave with Beth and meet up with other displaced NYCM runners (Katie, Leticia, and Ashley). Also joined by Theodora (thanks a million for the Tequila shot), Laura and Abby. Frantically pound 10 margaritas. Sign up for Richmond Marathon. #TeamRichmond was established.

Ashley fact: I am an impulsive alcoholic. Also, It was my younger (almost the same age) sister’s birthday. Happy 26th Shelley 🙂

Saturday 11/03: Hungover, obviously. I had 10 margaritas. I gathered myself together and went down to the Jersey Shore again (this time to Fizz’s parents) to help clean up some hurricane damage.

Sunday 11/04: Met Laura in Central Park to run some miles. The atmosphere was unbelievable. I’m guessing tens of thousands of runners were out, all in great spirits. People were cheering, passing out snacks and water to the runners. Mostly everyone was in their NYCM orange long-sleeved shirt. or some sort of ING NYCM gear picked up at the expo.

Closest we’ll get to the NYCM finish in 2012.

Total: 8.11mi, 1:11, 8:45 pace

Total Weekly Mileage: 13.11

Total Weekly Drinks: A million

11/05/12 – 11/11/12 – Marathon week

Monday 11/05: Rest

Tuesday 11/06: Rest

Wednesday 11/07: Sad attempt at running on the treadmill at my house. I ran 1 mile and went upstairs and had wine.

Thursday 11/08: Another sad treadmill attempt. I went to NYSC at lunch to get 5ish miles in at a speedier pace. I forced Beth to meet me there. I ran 2 quick miles and was 100% over it. I spent the rest of the time taking pictures of myself foam rolling. Beth caught me doing this and offered to help.

Miss America

Friday 11/09: 8.5 hour drive to Richmond.

Saturday 11/10: Richmond Marathon (click for recap)! New PR by 1 minute. Official Results: 26.2 mi, 3:57:40, 9:04 pace

Sunday 11/11: 6 hour drive back to NJ

Total Weekly Mileage: 29.2

 

5 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap 10/29/12-11/11/12

  1. Dori

    I can’t imagine the silence at Javits when the race was canceled. That must have been so strange. And this is my favorite thing of all: ‘Wednesday 11/07: Sad attempt at running on the treadmill at my house. I ran 1 mile and went upstairs and had wine.’

    Reply

Comment Away

