Work it Out Hoboken – Turkey Burn 2012

I was excited to finally try Work it Out, a boutique studio in Hoboken. Dori and I signed up for a special work out called the Turkey Burn for the Sunday after Thanksgiving.

The studio is gorgeous. It is bright and welcoming.

Photo Credit: WiO Studios

There is a small locker room which lockers that you can program each visit right past the reception area (you do not need to bring your own lock, which is awesome for people like me who ALWAYS forgets your lock).

Photo Credit: WiO Studios

We were given a quick tour of the studio and then give the agenda for the workout (which scared me that any workout is long enough to have an agenda).

Warm up: 1 mile run outside

Ride Class (spin)

Sweata Weatha Class (strength circuit)

Dori and I were in the first group back from the run so we went into the spin class first, ON THE PINK BIKES!

The spin room is Teeeenty tiny. Only 8 bikes, 4 rows of 2. It didn’t feel cramped though. The instructor, April, was amazing. The class was really tough but she helped us through each part by being very motivational!

After spin, we took off our shoes and went into the work out room. The room had a springy gymnastics floor. My childhood memories came rushing back to me and my initial reaction was to do a back handspring but then I remembered I would probably break something. The next part of class was the circuit training taught by Monica. There were stations set up around the room (8 or 10 total I cannot remember) and we did each station for one minute. In between stations we did 30 seconds of burpees. I am positive I did 6,000 burpees yesterday. My favorite station: boxing with Monica. I love boxing and used to go often and I lost my touch because she gave me a look like “Come on, is that really all you’ve got?” Constant motion, constant work on a different part of the body. Awesome format. We finished up with a 2 minute wall sit that made me want to jump off a bridge. We ended the entire class with a great stretch and I felt refreshed.

My only peeve about the class was the lack of correction by the instructors. We were given the instructions of a lot of exercises quickly and it was hard to remember. I had to take a second at each station to see if I was doing it correctly. Because she was boxing the first time, it wasn’t until the second time around the circuit that she came over with corrections and instructions to help us out! I found myself doing the wrong thing on more than one occasion.

I really did love the classes and the studio. I would 100% love to go to a spin/strength combination workout like this each week! It was great to visit a new studio! I am loving the boutique studios more and more! Bonus: I got to spend some more time with Lynda, who was also taking the class!

For more information on Work it Out Hoboken, you can visit their website at http://www.workitoutgym.com/wio/

You can visit them on Facebook and Twitter as well!

The address of the studio is as follows:

603 Willow Avenue
Hoboken, NJ 07030
(201) 222-0802

6 thoughts on “Work it Out Hoboken – Turkey Burn 2012

  1. Dori

    Great review! I’m so happy we went to the Turkey Burn. Let’s make a date to do it again next year! I wish they would offer this class every week, I thought it was really awesome. Either way, we need to go back to April’s spin classes! Thanks for enduring 90 minutes with me and eating melted cheese with prongs after!

    Reply
  2. pickyrunner

    Wow, what a cool studio!! I’ve never seen a place like that, but it looks so trendy, I love it 🙂
    Feeling the burn in style, nothing better!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Weekly Workout Recap 11/12/12-11/25/12 | Running Bun

Comment Away

